TOUR SCHEDULE: The Black Kids by Christina Hammonds Reed

TOUR SCHEDULE: The Black Kids by Christina Hammonds Reed

Hello friends!

We are so excited to announce the confirmed schedule for the The Black Kids tour! Thank you again to all of you that signed up and helped spread the word to ensure that we filled up this tour with some amazing #ownvoices reviewers! Be sure to visit our hosts during this week and help promote the release of The Black Kids for the entire week.

Remember, all tour hosts are required to post reviews in addition to their creative content.

July 28

Hear Our VoicesIntro Video Interview
Sometimes Leelynn ReadsOriginal Book Tag
Bookin GoodReview in 5 Gifs + #OwnVoices Reflection
Amaysn ReadsVideo Review + #OwnVoices Reflection

July 29

DJ Reads Books#OwnVoices Reflection + Video Book Review (IG)
Blk BookishDream Cast + #OwnVoices Reflection
A Warrior’s LibraryVideo Review + Theme Analysis (Blog)
Positively BriAna ReadsBlog Interview + Original Book Tag + Theme Analysis (IG)

July 30

Sometimes Leelynn Reads#OwnVoices Reflection
bnjreadsFavorite Quotes
Curly Haired BibliophilePlaylist + #OwnVoices Reflection (IG)
Chidimma DesireeVideo Review + Book Recs

July 31

Nox ReadsReading Journal
Kay The BookwormVideo Review + Favorite Quotes (IG)
Rae’s Reads and ReviewBlog Interview + Theme Analysis + Cover Recreation
Bookin It With AhtiyaVideo Review + #OwnVoices Reflection (Blog) (IG)

August 1

One Page At a TimeReading Vlog + #OwnVoices Reflection
Books Whit MePlaylist + #OwnVoices Reflection
Cosmics N Reads15 Thoughts While Reading + Book Aesthetic
The Right NowPlaylist
Kali’s Bookish RamblesDream Cast + Playlist

August 2

Jen’s Book DenFavorite Quotes (Blog)
The Plot Thickens15 Thoughts While Reading
Books with Brandie ShanaeReading Vlog + #OwnVoices Reflection (IG)
Kandice DanielleVideo Review + #OwnVoices Reflection

August 3

Nox ReadsVideo Review
Whitney MouseBook Recs on Mental Health + #OwnVoices Reflection
Books and Melanin – #OwnVoices Reflection + Cover Recreation
Beautiful Dawn DesignsReview (IG)
Bookish EndsFavorite Quotes

August 4

Release Day!
The Socially Awkward Book Lover#OwnVoices Reflection (IG)
All Books, All PeopleBook Recs
All I Ever Wanted Was the World – Review
Bri’s Book Nook15 Thoughts While Reading
One Page At a TimeVideo Interview

Christina Hammonds Reed holds an MFA in Film and Television Production from the University of Southern California’s School of Cinematic Arts. Her short fiction has previously appeared in the Santa Monica Review. She lives in Hermosa Beach, CA.

The Black Kids

by Christina Hammonds Reed
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Release Date: September 1st, 2020
Genre: Young Adult, Historical Fiction, Contemporary

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | The Book Depository | Kobo | Google

Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.

Los Angeles, 1992

Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It’s the end of senior year and they’re spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer.

Everything changes one afternoon in April, when four LAPD officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley’s not just one of the girls. She’s one of the black kids.

As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family façade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson.

With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them?

11 thoughts on “TOUR SCHEDULE: The Black Kids by Christina Hammonds Reed

  1. Reblogged this on Rae's Reads and Reviews and commented:
    I’m going to be part of the Hear Our Voices book tour for The Black Kids by Christina Hammond Reeds! This will be my first ever book tour and I’m over the moon with excitement. Make sure to tune in from July 28th to August 4th to see what all of the other tour hosts are posting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s